Skip to main content
Search IntMath

The 5 Platonic Solids of Geometry

For centuries, mathematicians and philosophers have been fascinated by the five regular polyhedra known as the platonic solids. These three-dimensional shapes have unique properties that make them a cornerstone of geometry. In this blog post, we will explain what platonic solids are, why they are important, and some interesting facts about each one. 

What Are Platonic Solids? 

Platonic solids are three-dimensional shapes with flat faces that meet at straight edges and sharp corners. They get their name from the ancient Greek philosopher Plato who theorized that the universe was composed of these five shapes. He believed that each shape was associated with an element: earth (cube), air (octahedron), fire (tetrahedron), water (icosahedron), and spirit (dodecahedron). 

Why Are Platonic Solids Important? 

Platonic solids are incredibly important to mathematics and geometry because they exhibit certain properties not found in other 3D shapes. For example, all platonic solids have identical faces which means they can be scaled up or down without changing their structure or proportions. Additionally, all edges of a platonic solid are equal length which gives it great stability when compared to other 3D shapes like prisms or pyramids which often have edges of different lengths. 

Interesting Facts About Platonic Solids 

Each platonic solid has its own unique properties that make it special. Here are some interesting facts about each one: 

•The cube is the only 6 sided platonic solid and has 8 vertices (corners). It is made up of 12 edges that form squares on all 6 sides.   

•The octahedron has 8 triangular faces and 6 vertices making it the second largest number of vertices among the five shapes. 

•The tetrahedron is a 4 sided shape with 4 triangular faces and 4 vertices making it the smallest of all 5 platonic solids. 

•The icosahedron has 20 triangular faces, 12 vertices, and 30 edges making it the most complex platonic solid in terms of sides/faces/edges/vertices ratio. 

•The dodecahedron has 12 pentagonal faces, 20 vertices, and 30 edges making it the only 5 sided shape among the 5 regular polyhedral shapes. 


Platonic solids are 3D geometric shapes that have intrigued mathematicians for centuries due to their unique properties such as identical faces and equal edge lengths no matter how they are scaled up or down. Studying these five regular polyhedra gives us insights into geometry as well as our universe itself! If you’re looking for a fun challenge to stretch your math skills then try constructing your own model of a platonic solid using paper or materials found around your home! Have fun!


How many Platonic solids are in geometry?

There are five Platonic solids in geometry, which are the cube, octahedron, tetrahedron, icosahedron, and dodecahedron. Each of these shapes has distinct properties that make it unique and interesting to study.

What are the properties of Platonic solids?

Platonic solids have certain properties that make them distinct from other 3D shapes. All platonic solids have the same number of faces and edges, each edge is equal in length, and each face is congruent to all others. Additionally, they can be scaled up or down without changing their structure or proportions.

Why are the 5 Platonic solids important?

The 5 Platonic solids are important to mathematics and geometry because they possess certain properties that are not found in other 3D shapes. Studying these regular polyhedra can give us insights into our universe, as well as the principles of geometry. They also provide a great challenge for students looking to stretch their math skills.

Platonic solids are incredibly fascinating and have a lot to offer in terms of learning about geometry and the universe. We hope this article has helped you understand more about these five regular polyhedra and their importance. Thanks for reading!


Why are the forms called Platonic solids?

The term “Platonic solids” was coined by the Greek philosopher Plato who believed that these five 3D shapes, which he called “the elements of fire, water, air, earth and the cosmos” were perfect representations of the universe. He believed that each shape represented a different element and could be used to explain the structure of the universe. Although Plato’s beliefs have since been disproven, his name has become associated with these five 3D shapes and they are now known as Platonic solids.  

Can a cube be considered a platonic solid?

Yes! The cube is one of the five platonic solids, alongside the octahedron, tetrahedron, icosahedron and dodecahedron. It is the only 6-sided shape among them and consists of 8 vertices (corners), 12 edges that form squares on all 6 sides, and 6 faces. This makes it the most common of all platonic solids.  The cube is a great example of an object with perfect symmetry and can be scaled up or down without changing its structure or proportions.  Therefore, it should come as no surprise that the cube has been used in mathematics, art, architecture and other fields for centuries.  It is truly one of the most fascinating 3D shapes!  

Tips, tricks, lessons, and tutoring to help reduce test anxiety and move to the top of the class.